A Follow-Up to My Last Entry (aka more NEWS reverence)

Oh, dear. My fangirlism. Has it it become so obvious that even The Pest can detect it? Yesterday he said to me, “You’re such a fangirl, aren’t you?”

>____<

I used to pride myself on not being one of those brainwashed giggly fangirls. And then Tegoshi and his evil powers of seduction dragged me KICKING AND SCREAMING into the world of Japanese entertainment.

Or more specifically, Johnny’s Entertainment.

Since I’ll be spending all my time doing homework later, I figured I’d milk out the last of my fangirl urges into this ultra-lengthy NEWS meme I stole from somewhere. Tons of Tego bias ahead. Just a warning, in case there happens to be any Tego haters reading this. =)

WARM UP

1. That you’re doing this, we can assume you like NEWS at least some. Would you consider them your favorite Johnny’s Entertainment group?
Oh goodness, YES TIMES INFINITY.

2. Can you name all 6 current members?
Yamashita Tomohisa, Nishikido Ryo, Koyama Keiichiro, Masuda Takahisa, Kato Shigeaki, Tegoshi Yuya

3. What about the 2 not currently around?
Kusano Hironori, Uchi Hiroki

4. Ninth who left a long time ago?
Er… without Google? >_< Moriuchi Taka-something before his family troubles. That’s right, I know about his family issues but I have yet to learn his name. His voice is supposedly fantastic, better than Tegoshi’s.

EDIT: TAKA IS AWESOME.

5. How did you learn about NEWS?
I adore Ikuta Toma, and in many Youtube clips of him as a Jr (which he still is! D:) he’s with this mysterious, cute kid nicknamed Yamapi. Naturally, I got curious and looked this guy up because he seemed a lot more popular than Toma. Turns out that he’s a leader of a group called NEWS, how curious.

6. What was your first impression of NEWS?
“Gross, an all boys singing group with too many members. I WILL NEVER LIKE YOU. That Tegoshi reminds me of that Akanishi fellow.” <– wtf, WTF.

7. How did you come to like NEWS?
After accidentally discovering “Bambina” and becoming addicted to the moaning in it, and then to Tegoshi’s solo during the bridge of the song. And then reading the translation of those lines. :D

8. What do you think is NEWS strongest point when compared to other JE/music/talent groups?
THEY’RE SMART(ish). And their prettiness. Or their special brand of member-ai. Or that they are the closest you will get to “normal” when it comes to JE. (Some may call them “boring,” which I say equates to “normal” in JE.)

9. What do you think is NEWS weakest point when compared to other JE/music/talent groups?
They get no attention! And their under-budgetedness. Johnny-san, give them more money, dammit! Seriously, the “Happy Birthday” PV? What was THAT, rainbow cardboard and a white room? Sure, it’s cute and all, but no doubt wicked low-budget. A little more [public] fanservice would also be much appreciated, even though I do like that they don’t try to force the fanservice. They haven’t reached Arashi’s level yet.

(Then again, I doubt anyone could ever reach Arashi’s level.)

10. Are you listening to them right now?
Well, not NEWS exactly, but it’s “Kibou no Hikari wo Kokoro ni Tomosou,” a Tegomass song. Can that count?

Continue reading