Still hating school.

The week of hell is over. I have three full days to relax (though I should probably spend Monday studying). I got the four mid-year exams I was worried about done and over with.

Algebra II : As my punk of a little brother would say: “Epic fail.” It was a two-hundred-point, nine-page exam, and I left about two pages blank. I’ve always been extremely slow at math stuff, but I’m careful. I’m hoping I did well on what I completed.

Religion: Her multiple choice questions are ridiculously obvious, so I’m not worried about how I did on that. I hope I did okay. I spent a good four hours studying for it. I’m slightly shocked I found it so easy, though. Usually I just sleep in her class and leave with nothing learned.

American Literature: Surprisingly, it wasn’t difficult at all. As usual, I was one of the last people finished, since I have a tendency to write more than I should. My journal entries are proof of that.

Chemistry: Far easier than I thought it would be. There are parts where I blanked out, but I definitely got over an eighty.

Health: The brochure I did for the mid-year project took forever to finish, but the result was really professional-looking. I got a hundred on it.

I’m not worried at all for next week’s exams, French and Geometry. French is, well, French. I’ve always done great in that class. As for Geometry, it doesn’t scare me. All I ever do in that class is sit, watch the teacher talk, and nod when appropriate. And just to archive them so I can look back someday, I’m going to post my current averages. In alphabetical order :D

Algebra II – 101
American Literature – 94
Chemistry – 96
French II – 99
Geometry – 104
Health – 97
Religion – 97

I wonder if anyone in school hates me because it seems like I just breeze through school and effortlessly maintain my high grades. Will I manage to graduate as valedictorian, or even salutatorian? Definitely not. It only seems like I’m smart because of my grades, but I’m really actually slow and stupid, unlike those smartypants who seem to know everything naturally. I have to work extra hard for these grades. Besides, I don’t even want to be valedictorian. You have to write a speech AND sound smart while reading it. D=

While I’m at it, let me say something about the grading system: I think it’s stupid. I don’t think it accurately represents one’s intelligence at all. Take me, for example. My grades are great, I have been called a genius by several students, and one of the “popular” girls asked me to tutor her in French.

But I am one of the stupidest people I know. I once asked the Old Man what’s 5% of a dollar. Really.

All right, enough of that. It’s no fun to talk about my grades for the entire entry.

Oh, I almost forgot. I actually got the Student of the Month award for December! It was during an assembly when the teacher announced she would be giving out the proud little pin. The theme of the month was integrity, and since I have a very narrow vocabulary, I hadn’t a clue what that meant. I knew it was a good thing, though, which was why I did not expect to get the award at all. I was so certain I would not be one of the students called up that I lounged back and waited for the ceremony to end.

Imagine how astounded I was when my name was the very first name called. I felt light headed as the entire sophomore class erupted in cheers for me, and I began wading my way down the bleachers and up to the teacher. I was scared I would faint as I went to accept the pin. I’m supposed to display it on the collar of my uniform blouse with pride. Isn’t it pretty?

p10106271

When I got home, I looked up the definition of “integrity.”

in⋅teg⋅ri⋅ty

[in-teg-ri-tee]
–noun

1. adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.
2. the state of being whole, entire, or undiminished: to preserve the integrity of the empire.
3. a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition: the integrity of a ship’s hull.

– from Dictionary.com

Hmm. That makes total sense. I have this terrible condition that prevents me from telling lies and doing bad things. In fact, I’m so honest it makes people uncomfortable.

On the same day I received the award, Daddy (ugh, that makes me sound like a brat, but that’s how I address him; well, that and “the Old Man”) lost his job. Now we’re supposed to survive on my mother’s less-than-$2000-a-month salary. We’re better off than some families out there, but Mama’s a notoriously big spender. Today she spent $300 on groceries and $600 on face creams and other stuff to prolong her youth.

Me: What, did you buy the whole store?
Mama: No, but your father started crying when he saw the receipt.

The Old Man’s just lucky I’m not a total slacker or else he’d be paying the full price for my tuition. I wonder what it’s like for The Pest, having to live in the shadows of his seemingly perfect big sister.

Resolutions update:

#10. Add more songs to my iPod – Accomplished!

#11. Quit leaving things until the last minute – Continuing to fail.

#17. Get over Merry – Possibly accomplished!

# 35. Participate more in Health class to show the teacher that I’m at least pretending to care – Accomplished! (The participation grade went up from last term’s 60% to 80%!)

Until next time,

~ Mimi XD

P.S. Today, I wore neon orange pants, a leaf green and white striped shirt, an oversized olive-green hoodie over it, and a sky blue fishing hat. I wasn’t kidding when I said I don’t care much for fashion.

Leave a Reply

